So it's a cold and rainy Saturday here in Columbia SC. I haven't amounted to much of anything today. I have managed to watch alot of  television, and while surfing through the channels I've reaffirmed my belief that they music that is force fed to us today sucks....
Case in point, "Rock" Bands...
They're so predictable, skinny jeans, keys on a carribeaner , power guitar stance, foot on the monitor, and slinging the mic by the cable. All the while playing contrived Blink 182 songs with power chords and lyrics while trying to sound poetic come off sappy. Combine that with a nasal/fake British accent delivery makes for a truly gag inspiring preformance.
That said I figured I'd share my top 10 Artists (as if you actually care)


in no particular order
  • The Rolling Stones (esp Exile on Main St/Sticky Fingers)
  • Otis Redding (Duh)
  • Bob Seger (hardest working man in R&R)
  • Townes Van Zandt 
  • Kris Kristofferson
  • Delbert McClinton-taught Lennon to play harp...
  • Black Crowes
  • Tom Petty (Damn the Torpedoes changed my life)
  • The Faces (Rod Stewart in his prime)
  • Ryan Adams/Whiskeytown
Jon Hines
12/30/2010 11:47:47 pm

As to the state of Rock music, I must agree - it is not so good. We might get a good new band [in mainstream] a year. As to standing one leg on the monitor, I defend this for two musicians: Steve Harris and Jon Hines because they both rule...honestly. :)

Reply



Leave a Reply.